Lilywhite/Frith numbering

Welcome to the postcard.co.uk board, for discussion on all aspects of the hobby. You'll need to register to post but this only takes a few seconds and gives you access to more of the features and options available. Please read the the HOW to REGISTER article first. thanks

Moderator: MichaelDay

ianatkinson

Lilywhite/Frith numbering

Post by ianatkinson »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to to collecting postcards and I have a question someone may know the answer to?

I'm collecting just postcards of Garforth in Leeds where I live. There are some cards which are published by Lilywhite and others by Frith (I think one was bought out by the other at some point) which have a card number on the front.

All the cards for Garforth have 'GFH' and a number e.g. GFH2, it seems as though they came up with a 3 letter code for each different place (NWH for Norwich, PKN for Pocklington as two examples I just found) so any GFH ones will be Garforth I think.

For example I have records of cards GFH2, 3, 7, 15, 16, 22 for Lilywhite (these are from 1910s and 1920s) and GFH2, 3, 7, 40, 42, 44, 46 for Frith (1940s to 1960s). The 2, 3 and 7 are not the same card so I think each company must have started their own numbering.

The question is whether it can be assumed that all numbers in a series were issued? By which I mean for Lilywhite are there likely to be cards 1, 4-6, 8-14 and so on out there somewhere?

If so the highest number would give a good indication of where the gaps are.

Sorry if it's a daft question, I'm a bit OCD and I like to organise thing and arrange them neatly I would be good to know if I'm looking for things that exist or not to make a complete set over time.

I should have started this years ago really :)

Thanks,

Ian

eastlondonpostcard
Location: https://www.ebid.net/uk/users/20sent06/all-about-me/

Re: Lilywhite/Frith numbering

Post by eastlondonpostcard »

Hello and welcome to the wonderful world of postcard collecting!