Postcard 'Eras' in the UK? Dating cards

Welcome to the postcard.co.uk board, for discussion on all aspects of the hobby. You'll need to register to post but this only takes a few seconds and gives you access to more of the features and options available. Please read the the HOW to REGISTER article first. thanks

Moderator: MichaelDay

BobG

Postcard 'Eras' in the UK? Dating cards

Post by BobG »

Hi, I'm new to the world of postcard collecting. I’m setting up a software database for cataloguing the 2500 Welsh/Wales postcards that I have. The area that I'm struggling with, and I'm sure it's the same with everyone when starting out, if accurate dating of the postcards. I'm getting there, I think!

I've just discovered on two separate USA postcard collecting websites a means of dating using 'Eras' (see below). This makes huge sense to me, and it seems to have solved my problem. However, I've not come across this means of date-classifying on any UK/GB postcard collecting website. Obviously, the dates of the eras wouldn’t match exactly with those in the UK/GB, but presumably it’s close.

I’d be interested in hearing member’s views on this.

Bob, Swansea, UK

Pioneer Era (1873 - 1898)
Private Mailing Card Era (1898 - 1901)
Undivided Back Era (1901 - 1907)
Divided Back Era (1907 - 1914)
White Border Era (1915 - 1930)
Linen Era (1930 - 1944)
Photochrome Era (1945 - Present)
Chrome?

eastlondonpostcard
Location: https://www.ebid.net/uk/users/20sent06/all-about-me/

Re: Postcard 'Eras' in the UK? Dating cards

Post by eastlondonpostcard »

In the UK the postcard scene emerged in a slightly different way ... a potted history can be found here: http://postcard.co.uk/history.php