Sending Postcards through the post ...

Welcome to the postcard.co.uk board, for discussion on all aspects of the hobby. You'll need to register to post but this only takes a few seconds and gives you access to more of the features and options available. Please read the the HOW to REGISTER article first. thanks

Moderator: MichaelDay

Spud66

Sending Postcards through the post ...

Post by Spud66 »

Bit of a basic one, I know - but I'm new to this hobby so please forgive me! I would be really grateful if anyone could offer me advice on the following:

1. What's the best way to send postcards safely through the post - those flimsy half-board enveloped don't really look up to it (tips on any reasonable suppliers of better alternatives would be great as well.)
2. Any views on the Royal Mail's 'print your own postage' option - looks like a lot less hassle than the queue at the local Post Office ... but there doesn't seem to be any safety net if your item goes astray?

Once again, many thanks for any help you may be able to give on these points.

Moonraker

Re: Sending Postcards through the post ...

Post by Moonraker »

Seeing no-one has jumped in to reply, here are my thoughts on Spud's first question,. The card-backed envelopes are quite expensive and most eBay vendors who send me cards opt for placing them inside one of those perspex (?) envelopes that dealers use at fairs, which provides a degree of waterproofing. This is reinforced externally by a piece of cardboard; some people use two pieces of card to sandwich the card(s), but this can take the thickness to beyond the 5mm of a "letter", making it a "large letter" and so costing more in postage. With my own occasional selling, I've inserted the final "product" (sealed within a normal paper envelope) through the "letter" slot of a cardboard "size guide" and it's just about passed through "freely", as specified by Royal Mail. Be aware that it goes through less easily with the longer side inserted.